How to initialize memory cards
Article ID: ART137882 | Date published: 05/13/2015 | Date last updated: 08/15/2015
 

Description

Do I need to initialize memory cards?

Solution

Initialize memory cards when you use them with this camcorder for the first time. You can also initialize a memory card or the built-in memory* (
/
/
/
/
/
only) to permanently delete all the recordings it contains.

* At the time of purchase, the built-in memory comes pre-initialized and contains music files for use as background music and images for use with the image mix function (image mix frames).
CAUTION
  • Initializing the memory will permanently erase all recordings. Lost original recordings cannot be recovered. Make sure you save important recordings in advance using an external device.
  • Initializing a memory card will permanently erase any music files and images you may have transferred to the card. (
    /
    /
    /
    /
    /
    ) The music files and image mix frames that come pre-installed in the built-in memory will be restored after it is initialized.) For details on how to transfer music files from the supplied CD-ROM to the memory card, please see the instruction manual for either VideoBrowser or Transfer Utility.
  • At the time of purchase, Eye-Fi cards contain the necessary network configuration software. Be sure to install the software and complete the required configuration setup before you initialize the Eye-Fi card prior to using it with this camcorder.
IMPORTANT
The screens and settings that appear may differ depending on the model you are using.

1. Power the camcorder using the compact power adapter.
Do not disconnect the power source or turn off the camcorder until the initialization is completed.

2. Press [HOME]

3. Touch [Other Settings].

4. Touch [ ] tab.

5. Drag your finger up or down to bring [Initialize /] into the orange selection bar, and then touch the button.
* For the
/
/
/
, please proceed to Step 7.

6. Touch [ Built-in Mem. ] or [ Mem. Card ].

7. Touch [ Initialize ].

8. Touch [Yes] to start initialization.

REFERENCE
  • Touch [Complete Initialization] this option if you want to physically erase all the data rather than just clear the file allocation table of the memory.
  • If you selected the [Complete Initialization] option, you can touch [Cancel] to cancel the initialization while it is in progress. All recordings will be erased and the memory can be used without any problem.

9. Touch [OK].

10. Touch [ ] to close the menu.


SIMS Doc Id

8201382600